113 Lafayette Ave, Buffalo, NY 14213(716) 923-1534 Fax: (716) 768-0980

Important Message

  • To Our WBCS School Community: 

    We are writing to you with overwhelming feelings of sorrow, outrage, and dismay following the death of George Floyd and the events and turmoil that have transpired over the past few days. We cannot remain silent on this. We need our students, staff and families of color to know that we care, you are important, and you are not alone. WBCS stands with you.

    WBCS was founded on the principles of diversity; we are incredibly proud of the diverse community we have built over the past eight years. However, our sentiments and actions need to go beyond celebrating diversity but unequivocally defending it.  We  need to be clear in our message that WBCS is a school that will not support racial or ethnic inequality.  We need all of our students to know they are valued and loved.  We need all families to feel welcome when they walk through our doors.  We must continue our conversations about race which includes examining our practices and removing obstacles that contribute to systemic inequities. We must foster a culture of inclusion – for students, families and staff.  

    As we find ourselves separated during the pandemic, it poses a challenge to connect and provide emotional support in the same way we typically would.  But know we are here.  Our administrators, teachers, and social worker will continue to work hard to provide support to our students and families.  We will post resources on how to talk with children about violence, racism and traumatic events.  We will provide guidance to our teachers so they can discuss the issue in an age-appropriate manner. We want our students to feel supported.  However, please feel free to contact us if you feel as though your child may need additional support. 

    We will continue to ask for your support to insure that WBCS remains a place where everyone receives the compassion, empathy and humanity they deserve.  

    Sincerely, 

    WBCS School Administration and the Board of Trustees 


 

Staff Directory

CLICK ON YOUR TEACHER'S NAME TO VIEW THEIR CLASSROOM WEBSITE. 

 

Administrators

Mrs. Andrea Todoro
School Leader

atodoro@westbuffalocharter.org

Mrs. Elizabeth Sterns
Finance & Operations Officer

esterns@westbuffalocharter.org

Mrs. Rachel Banas
Elementary School House Principal/DASA Coordinator/504 Coordinator

rbanas@westbuffalocharter.org

 

Mr. Shawn Siddall
Middle School House Principal/ Athletic Director 
ssiddall@westbuffalocharter.org

Mrs. Lauren Lysiak
Assistant House Principal

llysiak@westbuffalocharter.org

 

Front Office

Mrs. Leslie Ohl
Administrative Assistant
lohl@westbuffalocharter.org

Mrs. Brittany Mitchell
Office Manager

bmitchell@westbuffalocharter.org

Miss Sarah Catalano
Office Assistant
scatalano@westbuffalocharter.org

 

 

 

Kindergarten

 

Mrs. Maxine Perez
Aide, Room 201
mperez@westbuffalocharter.org

Ms. Kimberly Mazurowski
Resident Teacher, Room 102

amazurowski@westbuffalocharter.org

Ms. Briana O'Neill
Aide, Room 103
boneill@westbuffalocharter.org

 

 

Second Grade

Ms. Samantha House
Aide, Room 301
shouse@westbuffalocharter.org

Mr. Daniel Klein
Resident Teacher, Room 302

dklein@westbuffalocharter.org

Mrs. Dottie Candelario
Resident Teacher, Room 303 

dcandelario@westbuffalocharter.org

 

Third Grade

 

Mr. Michael O'Rourke
Resident Teacher, Room 401
morourke@westbuffalocharter.org

Mr. Gavin Gemberling
Aide, Room 402

ggemberling@westbuffalocharter.org

Miss Savanah Jonathan
Canisius Resident Teacher, Room 403

sjonathan@westbuffalocharter.org

 

Fourth Grade

Mr. Seth Ehrenberg
Canisius Resident Teacher, Room 104
sehrenberg@westbuffalocharter.org

Mr. Nicholas Shaul
Aide, Room 105

nshaul@westbuffalocharter.org

Miss Alexis Walser
Resident Teacher, Room 106

awalser@westbuffalocharter.org

 

Fifth Grade

Miss Ayana Britt
Aide,106
abritt@westbuffalocharter.org

Ms. Brianna Williams
Canisius Resident Teacher, Room 107

bwilliams@westbuffalocharter.org

 

 

 

 

 

Sixth Grade

 

 

Seventh and Eighth Grade

 

 

Middle School Content Support Teacher

Mr. Jacob Kartiganer
English Language Arts
jkartiganer@westbuffalocharter.org

Ms. Lauren Prial
Mathematics
lprial@westbuffalocharter.org

 

 

 

 

Curriculum Extensions

 

English As A New Language

 

Special Education

 

 

Ms. Kathy Gabryel
Personal Care Aide
kgabryel@westbuffalocharter.org

 

Miss Kara Rudnick
Tier 3 RtI Specialist

krudnick@westbuffalocharter.org

Mr. Frank Luciano
Aide, SLE 
fluciano@westbuffalocharter.org

 

Curriculum & Instruction

Mrs. Erin Clifford
Dir. of Curriculum & Instruction
eclifford@westbuffalocharter.org

Miss Julia Sosnowski
Middle School Math Interventionist

jsosnowski@westbuffalocharter.org

 

 

 

Support Staff

Mrs. Shawna Carlton
Nurse
scarlton@westbuffalocharter.org

Ms. Thi Thi Aung
Family Liasion

thithi@westbuffalocharter.org

 

Ms. Rebecca Englund
Speech Pathologist
renglund@westbuffalocharter.org

 

Miss Claire Niver
Accounting Intern
cniver@westbuffalocharter.org

 

 

Miss Mary Alice Niver
Aide

mniver@westbuffalocharter.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mrs. Tina Liberta
Language to Literacy Teacher

cliberta@westbuffalocharter.org

Ms. Justine Stoberl
Language to Literacy Aide

jstoberl@westbuffalocharter.org